Somewhere in Mississippi [Side Track]

Somewhere in Mississippi

Photo Credit: Danny Clinch

Album: n/a

Album Release Date: n/a

Label: n/a

Producer: ?

Track: “Somewhere in Mississippi”

Single Release Date: March 29, 2010

My Thoughts/Interpretation/Insights: “Somewhere in Mississippi”. Oh, man. I’ve been waiting a long time to talk about this song! I’ve been doing my best to talk about each song in the order that they were released so it has taken awhile to get to this point. So what is it about this song that has had me so anxious to talk about it? There are a couple of reasons. First, this song was an exclusive release as part of a songwriting challenge for the April 2010 issue of Esquire magazine. It was only available to download for one day! Second, it’s a great song! The song has our narrator going away with a girl that he barely knows and he quickly finds himself in spots of trouble.

I have a copy of this song, but I am definitely not confident that I have the whole thing. My copy is only 1 minute and 36 seconds long. That can’t be the whole thing! This one really has to come out in a Dierks Bentley boxed set someday!

Read more about the Esquire songwriting contest at these links:

Dierks Bentley Is ‘Somewhere in Mississippi’ for Esquire

The Esquire Songwriting Challenge: “Somewhere in Mississippi”

Do you have this song? How long is the full track? What are the complete lyrics? Let me know what you think of this one. Do you like it? I love it! For the love of God, someone get me the full mp3 of this one!

Listen to the (partial) song and follow along with the (partial) lyrics below! I have also included behind-the-scenes videos. Enjoy!

Click this first link to hear the (partial) song:

“Somewhere in Mississippi” — A New Free Song from Esquire

Somewhere in Mississippi
Written by ?

I had only known her about six days or so
When she pulled into my drive and said “Road Trip. Let’s Go!”
Jumped in her Jeep, out 40 West
Right past Graceland we took a left
Had a funny feelin’, thinkin’ we should turn around
Somewhere in Mississippi (sure enough) things went South

We dived into some whiskey at the Shack Up Inn
The deeper we dove the closer over she slid
Pressed her lips to mine had me feelin’ like a star
But it was all just a show for her old boyfriend at the bar
As the fists started flyin’ I was thinkin’ to myself
Somewhere in Mississippi, things went South

Now I’m stuck in Jackson with not a dollar to my name
And some tattooed, big dude all up in my face
I’m hopin’ for a way out but right now I’m havin’ some doubts
Somehwhere in Mississippi, things went South

Leave a comment